1. Home > 


Review Summary
4.7
55 Reviews
5
80% (44)
4
15% (8)
3
5% (3)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
91% Recommend this product (50 of 55 responses)
By suri
UK
October 1, 2017
oratene antiseptic gel
helps my dogs gums a lot, I use this once a month for a week then continue with the maintenance gel, I have tried many toothpastes but this seems the best .
By Vickie
Iowa
September 17, 2017
Works Very Well
The antiseptic gel works very well. I have a hairless chinese crested who are notorious for teeth and gum problems. She has constant problems with gum inflamation and sore spots around her remaining teeth in between cleanings. I decided to give this a try in between cleanings. I use it morning and evening after she eats (once per day did not work) by putting it on the sore spots then massage it in a bit. If you are consistent in using this it will help.
By JCasil
May 18, 2017
So Easy to use
My cats have gingivitis from a Calici infection. The Vet says the vaccination does not cover this part of the Calici virus - it has to run its course, but in the meantime it can do terrific damage to my cats teeth. I use this to get my cats used to teeth cleaning. I use this 2 times a day in the beginning and then introduce actually tooth brushing, twice a day (once at first). I use this in-between brushings, such as in the afternoon or when i don't have time or lost those awful little tiny toothbrushes they make for cats!
By dee
Buffalo, NY
May 16, 2017
Oratene ANTISEPTIC gel
My 12 yr old chihuahua had dental issues for 3+ years. Periodontal disease per vet. Had 5 teeth pulled in Sept 16 and another pulled in March 2017. Vet just says "brush his teeth". Not easy, all toothbrushes too big. I use my pinky finger with water in a dixie cup, rub along his gums to clean, and/or gauze with coconut oil. Try to make sure he drinks some water after every meal or snack. Morning and night put ANTISEPTIC gel on gums. The maintenance gel did not do much for my dog. Been using since 4/24/2017. My vet would not write a prescription for this product, the pharmacy claimed they did not have a need for a case of product, their only option to buy from mfg they claimed. I found online, was wary at first since is supposed to be prescription, but box sealed, valid lot # and exp date. So far between cleaning teeth as much as I can and faithfully using gel 2X per day/night, he is doing great. Also took him off kibble,(against my vets advice also, they claim it helps teeth, it never did) eating honest kitchen dehydrated and acts like he is 7 again. Highly recommend the ANTISEPTIC GEL. And the Honest Kitchen.
By Anonymous
March 30, 2017
Review for Oratene Oral Gel (1 oz)
. , .
By Mj
Destin
March 23, 2017
Antiseptic gel
An outstanding product. Cleared ulcers in my "dorkie's" mouth. Cheaper thru this venue than the vet's office! Easy to use and my pup loves the taste!
By Jori
February 25, 2017
Lessened the Bad Breath
My kitty has had chronic dental problems since he was 5. Now that he has CKD, it's worse. After using this once a day for a week, the smell of his breath improved and he is less sensitive to me touching his gums and teeth.
By jello
IL
December 29, 2016
oratene antiseptic saving my cats teeth
I am very happy with the Oratene antiseptic gel. I rescued a little 13 yr old cat and his teeth were not in the best of shape & he was found to be in the beginning stages of kidney disease so I have been afraid to have his teeth cleaned and to be sedated. The gel has seemed to be a great help and I also have purchased the teeth cleaning gel. His breath is so much better and his teeth seem a little cleaner also. He is fussy and will not let me put it on his gums or teeth so I put a drop of fish oil on a plate and put the gel in the center of it and he laps it up. He has been on it about 3 mos now. I sometimes go back and forth with the anitiseptic and the teeth cleaning gel. I will definitely purchase again. I was also told this is not harmful to his kidneys.
By blgilch
Kissimmee, fl
November 12, 2016
very good product
I use three of the Oratene products, the water additive, the antiseptic gel and the maintenance gel. They all work really well for helping with oral care for my dog.
By Bee
OH.
November 10, 2016
Oratene
I use the antiseptic gel on the gums each day until the tube is gone. Then I continue treatment with the Oratene maintenance gel. Whenever I notice his breath is not too appealing or spot a little blood on his toothbrush I go for a round of treatment with these two products. I can tell when his gums are sore or inflamed by looking at them. I also notice he crunches his dry food better when the gums are healthy. I love this product for him.
By Nansee
Ontario, Canada
August 2, 2016
Initial review is great
Just started using this on my 9 year old bichon .... Her teeth are in good shape (my opinion) except for a yellow tinge on the fangs top/bottom and some plaque ... Not much on the very back teeth. I noticed right away how her teeth whiten in front including her fangs .. I will continue to use and hope the plaque in back melts away.
By mk
July 24, 2016
Good for the teeth
I adopted my cat two months ago and took her to the hospital for the check-up. The previous owner hadn't brushed her teeths ever. The doctor said she had a polyp and the condition was pretty bad. I brushed her teeth twice a day with oratene. Her teeth became better.
By melissa
June 19, 2016
Really good product.
Really good product. Dog using the toothbrush, then the teeth a lot healthier.Will always using the toothbrush.
By liz
June 7, 2016
It is good
I bought it for my kitty. I really like it bcoz I dont need any brush.
By INJOO K.
Seoul, Republic of Korea
January 3, 2016
goodthing
oratend gel is good you know it GOOD GOOD GOOD GOOD
By 13Persians
New Hope, PA
December 17, 2015
Works great
This works great for mouth sores and ulcers. I start out with this and follow up with the maintenance gel.
By Catmom
August 15, 2015
Excellent product!
I use this in addition to the C.E.T. chews. It is helpful in the treatment of my girls oral stomatitis. My kitty actually allows me to apply this to her upper gums and she even licks the q-tip after. I think that says it all.
By Belkie
Digby, Nova Scotia
August 11, 2015
Oratene (antiseptic oral gel) & stomatitis
If you have a dog like I have with stomatitis, you will find this product benefisial in controlling this condition. This product will not cure stomatitis, but will help prevent it from worsening by keeping it in check. The alternative for not using Oratene ( in Canada, previously known as biotene ) would be to eventually have all the dog,s teeth extracted. I've seen this done to a friends greyhound where stomatitis got out of hand. They never used Oratene on their dog. I've been using this product on my dog, Pookie, since she was three. She's now ten and still has all her LUNCH HOOKS in place. At the beginning of Pookies problem with stomatitis, our vet, Dr. Neil Pothier, had experimented with numerous remedies. All had not panned out or were only short duration; ie., steroids until the dose had run out. But Oratene is less invasive and Pookie is holding her own by taking it. So, I'm sold.
By Cat P.
Pittsburgh, PA
March 10, 2015
Great Product!!!
Love this product! The cats don't seem to mind it and it does a good job with their gums and teeth. Highly recommend purchasing!
By Ang
Canada
February 9, 2015
Best remedy for sore inflamed gums
This product has resulted in my greyhound having healthy gums without antibiotics needed to reduce inflammation.
By Dragonfly
Throckmorton,Texas
August 15, 2014
worked wonders
It was so easy to apply, and the results were amazing. I have recommended it to several people.
By 24dogs1cat
Minnesota
June 26, 2014
Best thing you can ise
Do not hesitate to try this. Use it as directed and watch the tarter and plaque disappear. I love it.
By Smiles
Columbus, In
April 15, 2014
works really well
I have a 13 yr old dog that suffers from build up on her teeth. She isn't much of a chewer and doesn't care for anything that requires effort. We have had her teeth cleaned and 2 months later, she has build up and gum swelling. Given her age, I am not comfortable with anesthesia for her so frequently. Though it requires diligence on your part, this product works really well at keeping build up at bay. Applied every night before bed using my finger. She has food allergies too, so the swelling is partially due to her ingesting a treat she shouldn't have. I have been using this for 2 years now. The only comment i have is when it gets to the bottom of the tube, it doesn't work as well. We start a new tube.
By ang
March 4, 2014
Best Canine Dental Preventative
This is an excellent quality preventative for gingivitis, plaque, and even ( CUPS) Chronic Ulcerative Paradontal Stomititis. The alternative is repeated clinical dental cleanings with repeat anestesia.
By stillsticky
Kirkland,AZ
January 19, 2014
Great Product
Follow directions and this stuff works,it helps with bad breath and also kills bacteria in my Yorkies mouths.There is no taste so they don't run when i want to treat them.
By love-my-pet
December 29, 2013
still using it every night!
Not much of improvement as other people are writing, her gums are still irritated but I will continue using this product to the end. I also ordered the maintenance, so we shall see. She has her check up in February. I hope by then we have done some improvement.
By lucy
October 23, 2013
seems to be working
Using it on my old Bichon's awful mouth--can't afford another dental at this point in time. After a week a use, her gums were a better color, the calcification chipped right off her teeth and her breath smells better. I'm going to buy the maintenance version and use that.
By MsHollywood
Novelty Ohio
October 15, 2013
Quick Relieve for a Bad Tooth
I used this product this product on a 17 yr old jack russell when a gum irritation arose. Works quickly and best of all pets love the taste
By Biotene
Halifax, Nova Scotia Canada
October 2, 2013
Wonderful Product
I was not able to find this product anywhere close to my home. My dog needs Oratene to help control her gum disease. She is 17.5 years old so teeth cleaning surgery is not an option. The Oratene helps to keep the gum disease in check and prevent it from getting worse. I am so greatful Entirely Pets had the product and sent it so quickly to me. Thank you very much
By Jake
Western Pennsylvania
August 27, 2013
Very good product
Has made a big improvement in the condition of my cat's gums.
By smokey
June 26, 2013
Review for Oratene Oral Gel (1 oz)
The tube was surprisingly small so you're not getting much for the money. The small size does make it easy to apply in a cats mouth though. I have been using it for awhile and don't really see much change. I'm not sure how long you are supposed to use it before it makes a difference. My cats gums are still raw and red, though it looks like they have less tartar. My cats hate it. I'll reserve final judgement until I use up the whole tube. Just know that if you order it, the tube is very small and it is not easy to roll up the bottom like a toothpaste tube to help get it out.
By Michi
Key West, Florida
April 26, 2013
Biotene
This product does work. My oldest dog I believe has a too far advanced case of gum disease for this product to be 100% successful though. All three of my dogs absolutely love this gel. Might be because of the relief it gives them.
By Brizza
California
March 7, 2013
At last!!!!!!!!!!!
This product really did the trick. My little tea cup Maltese is older & occasionally gets a gum flare up. I swab this on around gum line and she feels so much better. Any inflamation subsides very quickly.
By Justine
February 16, 2013
Helped with pain associated with Stomatitis
I have a cat that often drools from terible bouts of Stomatitis. the gel has somehow relieved her of intense gum pain and has accepted it readily when I squeeze it onto her upper and lower gums. I'm grateful for this product as it relieves her of gum inflammation.
By WahineWinna
Honolulu, HI
January 23, 2013
Biotene Antiseptic Oral Gel (1 oz)
This product along with the Biotene Mouthwash helped resolve an ongoing problem with my little boy that even the Vet's recommended product couldn't do.
By heberbs
Concord, NH
December 27, 2012
Definitely Getting Better
Definitely seeing an improvememnt in his gums, now if it were only a little easier to get him to let me apply it............
By debjoy
November 26, 2012
I am pleased
I do realize what this is for, but i was hoping it would do more... I am trying to not do a dental on my 12 year old Papillon. It is helping the gums but does not help with the plaque....
By mmil1207
Philadelphia, PA
November 13, 2012
Works on extreme gingivitis
I got this based on a recommendation from my vet. Before I spent $600 on a teeth cleaning we decided to give this a chance in reducing my cat's really badly advanced gingivitis. I've been using it for about 3 weeks and I can see a difference in his gums---much less red and swollen. The only problem is getting him to cooperate when I apply it!
By may j.
ohio
November 1, 2012
biotene oral gel
this is good product for heavy plague buildup!
By GreytShopper
North Carolina
July 17, 2012
Works well
Our retired greyhound has very inflamed gums and this gel has helped tremendously. I only gave it 4 stars because it took more than a single tube of treatments to make progress.
By reb
woodbury ct
April 17, 2012
good product
did well for my cats teeth Reduced inflammation
By doroncj
March 4, 2012
Good Product
Helps to sooth the gums (gingivitis). Also has reduced some redness after two weeks of use, 2X per day. It's clear, tasteless and harmless to pets! I found it was easy to apply to the gums with a Q-tip.
By CATSAND9TAILS
niagara falls ontario canada
February 16, 2012
bIOTENE aNTISEPTIC oRAL gEL GOOD STUFF
My cat had a sore infected mouth and i wasnt about to stick my fingers in it to try and clean her teeth. I used this gel and just was able to stick the point of the tube in her mouth and squirt everyday and she got better within a few days and i didnt get bit!! Thanks oral gel!
By MGlory
January 29, 2012
Excellent Product
This works!! I have an 9 year old Cocker Spaniel that has her share of problems. By applying this product to inflamed gums on one lower side 2 times a day, the swelling went down and gums were completely back to normal in about 4-5 days. I just rubbed it on the gums with a clean finger. When she had the inflamed gums, she also had a small hidden external sore on the same side that developed in a fold (flap) on the lip-line. I applied this with a clean finger two times a day for about 5 days. The external sore also healed up and all swelling in the area cleared up. Now, these were not 'infected', they were inflamed and swollen. I couldn't believe this product worked so well. Keeping it clean and applying the Biotene Antiseptic Gel worked better and faster than I ever expected. Being a gel is a great help in applying!
By Bailey
December 31, 2011
Easy Purchase to use
Tried sprays my dog hated it...this gel is easy to use even tho he stills hate you putting anything in his mouth but I can do it...thanks again for a great product..
By drago
chicago,il
December 6, 2011
is clearing up red gums
easy to apply 2 times a day.the vet had him on oral antibiotics,which did'nt do much.in 4 days have noticed a big difference.
By Emily
Indianapolis, IN
December 6, 2011
great for canine stomatitis relief
My Italian Greyhound, Riley, has stomatitis. He's on a daily low dose of anti-biotics and a supplement (Oxstrin) to help fight plaque, but no matter what, the poor dog gets sores. This product really seems to help sooth his pain and get the infection under control. I would definitely recommend it and I'm not sure why my vet hasn't!
By Doxiemomma
New Jersey
November 29, 2011
Great Product!
I ordered this product for my 13 1/2 yr old doxie who has gingivitis. He was not letting me brush his teeth because of gum pain. Within 3 days, there was so much improvement and in a week, the redness and pain was gone so we're back to brushing teeth again. Not sure why my vet doesn't know about this product -- I asked her about treating his problem and got no solution other than a dental. Am going to try the maintenance gel next!
By Eunice
October 31, 2011
Great for animals with oral infections
Works very well for both my cats and dogs. I use this together with the Drinking Water Additive and Maintenance Oral Gel. Helps to prevent tartar build up, and prolongs the time interval between dental scaling. Cats with severe gingivitis or stomatitis also benefit from using this product. The gel isn't flavored so it works well with most cats.
By Animal L.
Staten Island, NY
October 27, 2011
Review for Oratene Oral Gel (1 oz)
Since using this product on my vet's advice, my cats' teeth have improved to the point they do not need to have dental work which involves sedation. A $10 product has saved me alot of money for 5 dental procedures for my cats and saved the cats the trauma of the procedure.

Page 1 of 2
1


CALL IN YOUR ORDER 800.889.8967

Stay in touch. Friends fur-ever!

Terms and Conditions

You have to agree on terms in order to proceed to the subscription.