1. Home > 


3.1
40 Reviews
5
30% (12)
4
28% (11)
3
3% (1)
2
5% (2)
1
35% (14)
60% Recommend this product (24 of 40 responses)
By Cynthia
Ocala, Florida
June 27, 2019
Helps somewhat
The collar helps a bit with Thunder storms and other loud noises.
By Mom T.
St. Augustine, FL
April 15, 2019
Poor Quality
Does not stay on active pet! He plays with is other pet brother and it gets yanked off every time I put it on him.
By dogowner
February 15, 2019
Did not help my dog
Did not help our lab. No change in behavior. Still whines when my husband leaves the house or just goes into another room. Also gets scared of simple things still. Not worth buying again since it did not help us.
By Adaptil F.
Texas
December 24, 2018
Life Saver!!
This product is a game changer for our anxious rescue. I know it doesn't work on all dogs, but it's a miracle product for ours. We could see a subtle change within a minute of putting it on. Just a little bit of calming and comfort goes a long way for a dog with PTSD.
ProsEasy to use, effective.
ConsExpensive for monthly use.
By TammyB
Jim Thorpe, PA
November 1, 2018
Didn't work for me
We recently moved and our 2 year old and 9 month old have been destructive whenever we leave the house. I previously used a DAP collar and it worked great, so I tried again. Unfortunately, it didn't help either of them. I am very disappointed.
By Eileen
Pa
October 11, 2018
Not so good
I bought the Adaptil collar a month ago and unfortunately it did nothing. I saw absolutely no change in Jake at all. I would not try the on the go collar again.
ProsAffordable
ConsNo change
By Lynne1410
Illinois
February 13, 2018
Really helps
Adopted a nervous Doxle. She was afraid of seeing her shadow and drinking water scared her. The collar started working within a few days. After a month we noticed her anxiety rise a bit and put on a fresh collat. Hoping she will acclimate as time goes on.
By Pat
August 8, 2017
Awesome product
This collar settled my dog down immediately. I now leave it on for the months of storms and firecrackers. Change it every 28 days.
By Patty
Tempe, AZ
February 27, 2017
Not a good purchase
I bought the collar and the diffuser...both products are expensive...considering that the collar is only good for four weeks. My dog has been using this collar for almost three weeks and his separation anxiety is the same. I do not recommend the collar or the diffuser..
By Lou
Buffalo, NY
February 16, 2017
Calming Collar, Didn't work
I purchased the calming collar for my dog. It is supposed to put out a scent that calms the pet. He wore it for a week. It never provided the calming effect it boasted in the ad. He continued to pant anxiously, bark at every loud noise, and bump in the night. It was a waste of money.
By Lillibet714
Burlington, VT
February 9, 2017
Good product
Bought the Adaptil collar to use in addition to the spray. Works really well for the first week, maybe two then wears off and does not have the same calming effects the latter two weeks in the life of the collar. I still recommend it especially if you have a highly anxious dog. It definitely helps and if we can, we plan to buy one a month for her to help her to relax and enjoy all the new experiences in her life.
By Karin
January 27, 2017
Miracle
I placed this collar on my dog that was afraid of every little noise and it was almost an instant change. I could not believe it but she was totally calm and seemed to relax naturally. I also bought the spray but have not had to use that. WONDERFUL product!
By Geri
Chicago, IL
June 30, 2016
Really helps!
Lou suffered from terrible anxiety. The Adaptil collar and room diffuser have been just great. We also purchased calming chews. No more excessive panting, whining, pacing, etc. Calm ,but not a zombie.
By Lisab
Rochester, NY
June 22, 2016
love it!
I purchased 4 to trial for various behaviors, along with the diffuser. It took a couple of weeks but I noticed the change in my 12 year old greyhound mix first. She was not as skiddish and jumpy. I then noticed the pack was calm during a thunderstorm...they typically end up in my recliner with me after the first rumble. The best came when I went to leash my manners class drop out...typically a squirrel but now sits patiently. Hmmmm I wonder if they make these for husbands
By Hunan
Wanette, OK
June 8, 2016
Skeptical but Amazed
I have 4 dogs, 3 of which are Pits - we live on an acreage with 10 of it fenced in so the dogs can roam. Evidently one of my pits (3 yrs old) was possibly shot at because she just started becoming very anxious with loud noises and storms. I tried Benedryl but it only lasts so long and it's not good to continue to give it to her. I contacted a local vet and she mentioned this product (their cost was $39.99). Not wanting to pay that for a product I knew nothing about, I got on this site, reviewed the product, and decided to purchase (hoping it was not a mistake). This collar has made all the difference in the world for my dog. She still gets a little anxious but no longer pants and shakes (even tries to hide) until I think she is going to have a heart attack. I truly recommend this collar to those who are experiencing the same issues with their pets. Truly amazing the difference in her then and now.
By Nana
Midlothian Texas
April 30, 2016
Mind blowing fabulous
This collar is a God send. We have had the worse storms lately and Rosie could care less. She is calm and sleeps right thru them. I originally purchased to see if it would help in training class since she is a nervous border collie. Can't say it work there but it sure worked with the thunder and lightening.
By 2Husky M.
Los Angeles
October 7, 2015
Calming to some extent
My dogs tend to escape once in a while, especially with thunder or fireworks. It's hard to tell how well the collars are working, but there haven't been fireworks or thunder lately. But my male Husky is definitely calmer in general since wearing this. My female is unchanged but she is more hyper in general so it doesn't seem to do much for her. I plan to continue using them just because it seems to relax the male so much that it can't be hurting anything.
By LadyDi
August 24, 2015
Helps reduce anxiety and hyperactivity
I have found the collar to be very effective as a calming product for several of my dogs.
By I D.
St. Cloud, FL
August 8, 2015
Adaptil Collar
I am very pleased with this product. My 13 year young has been terrified of storms her whole life. She would shake & hide the entire night. We have other calming Products (Pet Calm), but having to give it to all 4 of the Dogs. This collar has calmed the eldest & in turn stopped the others from reacting also. I still keep Pet Calm on hand & I have not used this product in a Firework Situation yet. This Product did not work for Our Boy getting Agitated (Dogs playing in yard next to course & barking dogs in the Professional Kennel) at Agility Class..... I hope this is helpful to others : )
By Smoochpie
July 12, 2015
Seems to help
Our 10 yr old lab has become more anxious as she's gotten older. This collar seems to take the edge off. It's not a dramatic change, but she seems a bit more relaxed.
By Starrsmom
June 22, 2015
Wonderful product
Our 14 year old chow has been frightened by thunderstorms and fireworks for years! We usually have to give her a calming medication which would last about 4 hours. With the collar, she is calm and able to go without the medicine most of the time! Very pleased that we don't have the wee hour wake up whine!
By Krissy
New York, NY
January 30, 2015
Calms nicely, not tolerated though
My very sweet but anxious Pekingese calmed very nicely to the collar. However, she was so agitated by the feel of it that she scratched her skin raw around the collar in less than 24 hours. I needed to take it off, take care of the wound, and not use it anymore sadly.
By Bren
New Mexico
March 28, 2014
Not working for what I wanted
I had hoped it would the decrease the dominance battle and urine marking between my two male dogs, but no luck. It's just as bad as ever
By Bee
Pa
March 28, 2014
Review for ADAPTIL On-The-Go Collar for Dogs (Large)
Unfortunately, this did not work well for our dog.
By Minnie's M.
Pittsburgh, PA
January 27, 2014
Not worth it
Recommended from our vet with the instructions to give it at least a month or two to see results. We stuck it out for about six months with very little results. My border collie mix is still very nervous and anxious and I honestly don't think it did a thing for her.
By kay
October 10, 2013
Did not work
I tried this with my dog and he still hasn't gotten over any anxiety. He has shewed on all my new furniture
By GJ
Oregon
September 19, 2013
Works for Us!
Our 7 year old Springer Spaniel/Lab has grand mal seizures and is on a large "cocktail" of meds. He also does not like changes when his "pack" is not all together. Our vet recommended the Adptil collar for his use during a time when I was going to be gone for 2 weeks. Twice my husband observed signs that he was going to seize. He started talking to the dog and rubbing the collar - no seizure! We are re-ordering and will keep using it on a regular base to hopefully slow down the frequency of his seizures and help our special guy lead a comfortable life.
By Schipper
September 10, 2013
Doesn't seem to be working
We are trying this for our standard poodle at the suggestion of his behaviorist. Haven't seen anything that indicates it's working for him. Not sure how long we are supposed to give it until we know. Directions say to replace it monthly and at this price, it's going to be too expensive. Can't recommend it at this point.
By SJ
Santa Cruz
August 12, 2013
Seems to Have Worked!
My older lab had a tough 4th of July this summer and there were residual pops in the night periodically afterwards. She was so afraid that she would shake and dig and try to hide. While she was still afraid when these noises occurred, she was easier to calm down and reassure. As part of a modification routine, adaptil does seem to help. We also bought the plug in adaptil for all of our dogs when we are out of town.
By MinniesMom
Pittsburgh, PA
August 11, 2013
So far so good
We are in our 10th week using the collar. The vet told us that we would see results in 8 to 10 weeks and we started seeing them closer to 6 weeks! I have a "high-strung" border collie mix that paces a lot and is afraid of storms. Since our 2nd child was born, her anxiety increased and she started licking non-stop and gave herself an acral lick granuloma (sp?). Her licking has definitely decreased and she's calmed down a bit.
By mountain g.
Dillon, CO
June 11, 2013
D.A.P. Collar
The collar seemed to calm my Alaskan Malamute within a short period of time. It's only been on for 2 weeks so I'm not sure of the month long effectiveness as advertised. I'm also using the D.A.P. spray in tandem with the collar. I'm happy so far. I would imagine it would be more effective on a short haired breed.
By Patti
Southern CA
January 29, 2013
It seems to help.
I read other reviews and decided to give it a try as there seemed to be mixed reviews. Our vet recommended this collar to help with anxiety related behaviors for our 2 year old terrier mix. After about 2 days of wearing the collar we noticed she is a little bit less anxious. She still jumps up when she gets really anxious but it seems to take more for her to get to that point. We will be traveling on a long road trip and we plan to ensure she has a fresh collar for the trip. If you are on the fence about it, I would say try it to see if it will help. I think the collar has had a positive effect on our anxious little pup.
By flipsy
November 16, 2012
Review for ADAPTIL On-The-Go Collar for Dogs (Large)
Did not do a thing for it. Should have a powder on it but had not. Not sure if the product was faulty
By cml
November 9, 2012
Best Buy I could make
This collar really works. It has calmed my dog and made her much happy. She is not pacing the house and nervous when the wind blows or hears loud noises. I will continue using this product. I recommend this to anyone who has a dog that is afraid of noise.
By DrRyan
November 7, 2012
Will continue to purchase
I bought this DAP collar upon the recommendation of my dog behaviorist -- my 20 month rescue Sammie has major "people reactivity" (i.e., she hates strangers!) I've noticed Sammie calming down much quicker around strangers, and will continue to use the product for the next few months if this trend continues! Plus, the collar arrived in my mailbox in just a few days.
By Anna B.
November 6, 2012
Grrrrr
They need to redesign the fastener on this collar. And the instructions. I had to tape it together. I guess the phermone worked, but I couldn't keep it on my dog long enough to be sure.
By Misha's M.
August 1, 2012
Was not happy with collar
I was not happy with this collar. It did not work at all.
By GSPLover
Glen Gardner, NJ
June 25, 2012
So far, So good
My German Shorthaired Pointer, 4 years old, who has been properly gun trained, is terrified of fireworks & thunder storms. I was skeptical about one of these collars, and this is the only brand I have used so far, but I definitely see a difference. He is aware of the thunder, looks up and is now sometimes barking at it, but he doesn't shake like he used to. He would pant with his tongue hanging out and shake from head to toe even after we could no longer hear the thunder. Now I notice that he looks up, is aware of the thunder, but doesn't pant or shake. And when he barks/growls at it, I tell him he's a good boy. Not that I want to promote barking behavior, but it seems he has more confidence and the few barks is better than him almost having a heart attack. I would definitely recommend trying it for yourself. I'm sure we've all wasted more money than this on our dogs. Now I wait to see what happens with the fireworks.
By Pegleg
Leavenworth, Ks
June 18, 2012
Worst item I have ever purchased
I have a 4 yr. old Blue Heeler, and he is wound up 24/7 to say the least. I purchased this collar to calm him down during the severe thunder stoms we have here in Kansas. Poo has had the collar on for almost 4 weeks and we have has a few storms in that time, and your colar had ZERO effect on him. He was still a nervous wreck. Buying your collas was a waste of my money......On your rating above it does NOT go low enough...This item is worthless...
By kimdes
March 28, 2012
Great Product!
Believe we are seeing results after one week! Using both the collar and the diffusser seem to really help my two year old OES with his anxiety issues. We will try the car next week and see if we also get some good results.

Page 1 of 1


CALL IN YOUR ORDER 800.889.8967

Stay in touch. Friends fur-ever!

Terms and Conditions

You have to agree on terms in order to proceed to the subscription.